Production House, Design House, My House

Standard

Yesterday was a pretty productive day, getting things made for inventory. Had some trial and error moments. Mostly error, but live  and learn. I got some new things done and adapted some patterns for other things, I made some super cute sleepy time masks, and got a bunch more cut out. They take minutes to sew. I also finished a reusable tote bag that I think looks amazing. I am working on making a bunch of readywear items. Since the shop is a custom shop and not everyone wants to wait for something to be made I am trying to get more readywear done.

I have always wondered what I would be like to work in a major brand design house, I certainly hope it’s less chaotic than my house lately.  There are design sketches, material and varies other paraphernalia laying about. Alice asked me what I was doing yesterday and I replied that I was working in my shop. She looked at me with her thoughtful Winnie the Pooh look then said, ” No you’re not silly your sewing”.  She was very curious all day because I told her that she wouldn’t get anything new until I made something for her brother. I don’t want him to feel like he is being left out.  Now I absolutely understand why most designer do women’s wear, so much easier than mens. When I want to make something for Alice it takes me about 15 minutes. Making something for her brother is much more difficult. I cut out some jeans for him out of some recycled mens cargo pants. Nicole(his mom) looked thru my materials and wanted me to make him a shirt out of a plaid that I have. It’s not the type of material that I can just whip up a t-shirt out of, so I needed to fabricate a little boys collared shirt pattern   I should say that I still need to fabricate a little boys collared shirt pattern.

I have had alot of people tell me that I should be a pattern maker, so making the pattern isn’t hard. It’s just finding the time to do it. Fabricating a pattern isn’t the easiest thing to do. But at some point today I really want to get it done.

Between the production, design and just regular life things are a little crazy at my house. There is only so much space to utilize. Nicole is working on becoming a Pastry Chef, so she wants to make and bake, Christopher is working on being a Chef, so he is all about cooking. Plus they are also the parents of two precocious children, so they are also busy parenting. I have my things going on and there is always someone stopping by. My partner has gotten to where he spends most of his day when not at work then in the bedroom(I am guessing away from the chaos).  Between all of us we also have three dogs, that want to be under foot at all times.

So here we are this morning, clearing muslin off the island, clearing material off the dining room table, putting away the iron and ironing board, my stove is a glasstop electric and I have thought about utilizing it as well, but that would be one more space to clean off for a meal.

Does it get hectic, yep. Does it get crazy, yep. Do I feel like I need to scream. most definitely on most days. Now that it’s started would i trade it for a private away from home shop, not a chance!

                

Leave a comment