“Begin at the beginning,and go on till you come to the end: then stop.”~Lewis Carroll

Standard

So here I am. It’s early again, I have been up for a couple of hours. Everyone else is sound asleep. I have been going over my production lists and what I need to get done or better what I would like to have done for the shop before the first of the year. That sounds like a long time from now, however we all know that it is just around the corner. I would also like to finish up on the project that I started for myself, which is those amazing trousers. I have them all cut out and ready to sew. I just can’t seem to find the time to do it. I bought some new fabric last night and started working on some summer dresses and cute two piece outfits that I really need to get done and in the shop. I also would like to have more stuff for little boys there as well.

I know that when my boys were little I could never find super cute things for them. Thats one of the reasons that I learned how to sew. That way I could make outfits for them that were cute and fun. When they wore them out a lot of times people would stop me and ask where I got them from. I usually would just smile and say I made them. If I had been smart I would have started all of this then. But who thinks of that when your 20 something with 4 kids.

I was at a local fabric outlet last night picking up a few things. Fabric obviously as well as some notions and whatnot. The problem with the fabric store is that I could be in there for hours on end, looking at fabric. I could easily walk out of there with a few thousands worth of fabric. I really have to curb my enthusiasm for stuff. Every thing that I look at inspires me in some way. The left part of my brain tries to tell me  that I can only work on one project at a time, but the right part gets so excited about what I find. GAH, it’s such a struggle. The left side usually wins when it points out that my bank account can’t take a 5000.00 fabric hit. lol.

I brought that up because the lady there told me that they were thinking about closing down. They had actually been thinking about this since March….OMG!, that cannot happen. I told her that I run a clothing design and manufacturing business and that one of the places that I depend on for quality fabrics is her place. Which in turn led to a conversation about online fabrics and wholesalers. Now the problem for me with that type of stuff is that I usually try to do an item as one of a kind. Therefore I don’t need an entire bolt of pink or purple gingham. I have looked at pricing for different places and different materials by the yard. I have come to the conclusion that after buying and shipping the fabric to me, the price ends up to be more than a trip in the car 4 blocks from my house. So if they do close….I’m screwed

If any of you know a good online place to get fabrics let me know, until then I’ll just keep hoping they stay open!

 

Leave a Reply

