You know what really grinds my gears!?

Standard

This day is gonna be a weird one. How do I know you ask? Because I slept in until 8am! That almost never happens, no matter how late I stay up I am usually up by 5 or 6. And that’s on a good day. So throughout the day today I will be sitting here wondering when the apocalypse is going to happen.

Ok, so on to what really grinds my gears. First I was reading about all the new trends for this winter(have to keep up on that stuff) in British Vogue and there were a couple of things.

First: Gucci Prada, Gaultier and Donna Karan have started their season with Forties glamour, all revolving around the pencil skirt. Now I know that they obviously have had their collection done for a while. BUT and it’s a big one, I stated in one  of my first post that I was inspired to do a pencil skirt. Now that all the big name designers are doing them it will make mine harder to sell.

Second:The silhouette for the season is large shapeless shifts. Prada(again), Bottega, Loewe, and Marni are all doing dropped waists 60’s  Tunic dresses. Jonathan Saunders,Miu MiuErdem, Victoria Beckham are doing nostalgic Forties-shaped shift dresses which is essentially the same thing with different types of fabrics.

Third: The colors for the season are dark muddy colors, deep rich burgandys, warm rusts among the monochrome. Mixed up with bright bold accents.

So all of that sounds exactly like what I have been working on for my current winter collection. So what do I do?  Look for the guy who has been stealing my ideas? OR be glad that my thinking is online with the current batch of designers? Including Chanel who’s collection includes masculine inspired clothes and that sounds just like the structured trouser that I am currently working on….

It’s very frustrating to know that my ideas could compete with the likes of Chanel and Beckham, but that my chance of being on the runway with them is as close as a trip to the milky way…………

Now I do feel like tormented, distressed, downtrodden artist.

Leave a Reply

